Reagan Gala 2017 a success!

Posted on Mar 25, 2017 in Blog with comments


11 table sponsors
16 elected officials
265 guests
Top 10 trending event on Twitter (No. 10)
$50,000+ profit

From Chairman James Dickey:

Last night's Travis County Republican Party Reagan Gala was a success on all fronts.
This great public display of just how far the party has come would not have been possible without an incredible amount of effort from an amazing team.

It was my great pleasure to present the Rising Star award to Councilwoman Ellen Troxclair, and to recognize our Volunteer of the Year Peggy Cravens, our outgoing Executive Director Olga Lasher and our Engagement Directors, Michael Lee and Adryana Boyne.

Thank you to our incredible speakers, Senator Ben Sasse and Commissioner George P. Bush for challenging and encouraging all of us.

Thank you to the event team: Executive Vice Chairman and Reagan Gala Event Chair Matt Mackowiak, Executive Director Gary Teal, Deputy Executive Director Tracey Carroll and Communications Director Andy Hogue.

Thank you to the SREC members in attendance: Jan Duncan, Fernando Trevino Jr, Mike Goldman, Linda Kinney, and Randan Marie Steinhauser.

Thank you to the elected officials who attended:

State Supreme Court Justice Jeff Boyd
State Board of Education Member Tom Maynard
State Senator Dawn Buckingham
State Representative John Cyrier
State Representative Jason Isaac
State Representative Paul Workman
Third Court of Appeals Chief Justice Jeff Rose
Third Court of Appeals Justice Scott Field
Third Court of Appeals Justice Melissa Goodwin
Third Court of Appeals Justice Bob Pemberton
Third Court of Appeals Justice David Puryear
Austin City Councilwoman Ellen Troxclair
Manor City Councilwoman Maria D Amezcua

Thank you to the candidates who joined us for the evening: Susan Narvaiz, Maura Phelan, Gabriel Nila, Ceasar Ruiz, Mike Vandewalle, Michael Cargill, Deke Pierce and Don Zimmerman.

And thank you to the sponsors, who helped make this our most successful gala in many years:

Jim Skaggs & Betty Skaggs
Bonner Carrington
Texans for Lawsuit Reform
Prestige Oyster
The Wilbanks Group
The Honorable Paul & Sherry Workman
Bill Flores for Congress
McCaul for Congress, Inc.
Roger Williams for U.S. Congress Committee
Texans for Lamar Smith
The Honorable Kent & Elise Grusendorf
Patrick McGuinness & Celeste McGuinness

My sincere thanks to the staff of The Austin Club for accommodating an overflow crowd so graciously.
Because of the incredible generosity and hard work of so many, this gala was not only exciting and fun, its net proceeds exceeded our projections by 67%.

I am truly grateful.


* * *

From Executive Vice Chairman Matt Mackowiak:

It was my honor to serve as Event Chairman of our Travis County GOP Reagan Gala, held last night at the beautiful Austin Club downtown.

This was truly a labor of love.
And I slept 13 hours last night!

The work began after the 1st of this year, when we asked our precinct chairs and supporters who they wanted to see as our headliner for this event, and U.S. Sen. Ben Sasse (R-NE) was one of the top choices. He quickly accepted our invitation on January 28. Land Commissioner George P. Bush was kind to quickly confirm his attendance as well.

After locking down the Austin Club for March 24, we began to execute the event.

The result is the single most successful fundraiser for TCRP in my memory, and at least the 2nd most successful financial profit in our organization's history.

We had 265+ guests, were oversold, and had 11 table sponsors and had 16 elected officials in attendance.

This event succeeded because of the vision, commitment, and assistance of our TCRP Chairman James Dickey.

This event succeeded because our new Executive director Gary Teal spent hundreds of hours over the past month executing on mundane but crucial elements.

This event succeeded because our Deputy Executive Director Tracey Carroll took responsibility for recruiting and managing our volunteers and owned the silent and live auction, which collected nearly 30 items and raised at least $13,000 by itself -- a smashing success.

This event succeeded because our Communications Director Andy Hogue masterfully managed technical elements at different times -- especially the day and night of the event.

The Austin Club, including Ken Richardson, Lillian Beckwith and Joe Z, were great to work with, incredibly accommodating, and always professional.

When I ran for Executive Vice Chairman in November of 2016, I pledged to work to provide a $100,000 budget for the 2017 calendar year for our organization. This was a bold goal, but with this team, I knew it was attainable.

The tallying isn't done, but at this point, we netted at least $40,000 last night and we are well on our way toward a $100,000 budget for this year.

To be honest, this event was a grind -- but to see it come off so well is truly gratifying for our entire team.

Thank you all.

Matt Mackowiak

Executive Vice Chairman
Travis County GOP

Event Chairman
2017 Reagan Gala